R134 marks a significant release for Virsae, and introduces Role-based Access for Business partners.

Role-based Access allows Business Partners to manage their users into roles, and gives them the ability to specify which customers, locations, and equipment their users have access to.

And of course, this release also contains numerous other fixes and enhancements from ongoing customer feedback.

New Functionality

Role-based Access for Business Partners

For administrators, Role-based access is available via the top menu: Service Desk -> Manage Roles and Access 

By default all BP users are added to a Default Role.   All users in this default role have access to all customers, their locations, and equipment.  This role cannot be edited.

To configure which customers, locations, or equipment a user has access to, the user needs to be moved out of the default role and into a new role, created by the BP Administrator.

When a user is configured with restricted access to selected customers, equipment, or locations – that information is hidden from them in VSM. Restricted equipment or locations are not shown in any filters, or tables.

A users “role” can be viewed under Manage Users, or under Manage Roles and Access.

Under Service Desk -> Manage Roles and Access, it is now possible to specify which customers, locations, and equipment each Business Partner User is authorized to access.

Adding new Locations, Equipment
When creating roles, and all equipment or all locations are selected for the specified customers, any new locations and equipment will automatically be added to that role.

Where a role is defined that only grants access to a subset of equipment or locations, and a new location is added, then that new location will be excluded from the current role.

Adding new Customers and users
By default, all customers and new users are added to the default role.  However, this can be updated on the ‘create’ pop-up menu.

On creating a new customer, the administrator can specify which roles to associate them with. Similar functionality also applies to creating new users.

Deleting Roles
When deleting roles, any users associated in that role will be moved back into the default role unless specified otherwise by the administrator

Files and Folders
A few releases ago, VSM launched Files and Folders – Preview – a redesign of our classic files and folders.   Files and Folders – Preview has now been promoted to Files and Folders, with the Classic Files and Folders discontinued.

Improvements to the Business Partner Landing Page
Several changes have been made to the BP Landing page:

  • Sorting is now alphabetical by default. This applies to both the tile view and table view
  • There was an existing issue where the severity bar, and last known Machine Proxy heartbeat included both Machine proxy, and all Machine Proxy Agents. This has now been fixed, and only the oldest Machine Proxy heartbeat is shown (with all machine proxy heart beats in mouseover). The severity bar reflects this also.
  • On the Business Partner’s top menu, Service Desk -> Customers has been updated to navigate to the default table view instead of the old, now deprecated customer view page.

Workflow Designer GetEquipmentDetails activity now returns more information
In the workflow designer, the GetEquipmentDetails activity has been updated to write the returned name for both Linux and Windows devices to a variable.

This enables customers to match alarms passed to their Service Now instance based on node name.

Improved support for Avaya J-series
The Phone Data Report has been updated to include configuration data for the new range of Avaya Phone types:

  • J129
  • J139
  • J169
  • J179

Bug fixes

The equipment locations page shows the last heartbeat for the Machine Proxy and Machine Proxy Agents / Windows Servers. In some cases, the Machine Proxy agents, were duplicated in the table and showing different results. This has now been fixed.

Previously, both administrators and normal users could create new locations and new customers. This has now been restricted to administrators only.

Previously, when logging on as a business partner, the top-menu had not been updated, and was still using the old navigation paths.  It has now been updated to reflect what is shown on the Landing wheel, and on the BP Landing page for customers.

Previously, network connectivity and alarm reports where not scheduling correctly, and emails were not coming through. This has now been fixed.